## MARYPORT TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held on Monday 14 May 2018 in the Council Chambers, Town Hall, Maryport at 7.00pm.

#### **Present**

Councillor S Ashworth	Councillor B Carter
Councillor Mrs A Kendall	Councillor P Kendall
Councillor P McCarthy	Councillor Mrs C McCarron-Holmes
Councillor Mrs L Radcliffe	Councillor L Williamson
Councillor Mrs J Wood	Councillor M Wood

#### In Attendance

Mrs L Douglas (Clerk)
P Bramley (Clerk)
Two members of the public

# 1/18 Election of Chairman 2018/19

#### Resolved that:

- 1) A recess of five minutes be agreed to permit discussion of a matter raised prior to the election being held.
- 2) The role of Mayor be suspended for the Council Year 2018/19.
- 3) Councillor Mr P Kendall be elected Chairman of the Council for the Council Year 2018/19 & that the Chairman sign the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 4) The Council continue to support events in the town, at which the Council has traditionally been represented by the Mayor.
- 5) Representation at events be determined by selection, by mutual agreement, from the Committee Chairmen &, in the unavailability of the Chairmen, from the Committee Vice Chairmen.

### 2/18 Election of Deputy Mayor

**Resolved** that the role of Deputy Mayor be suspended for the Council Year 2018/19.

### 3/18 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors G Hampson, W Pegram, Ms S Stamper, I Tyson & Ms C Tindall.

## 4/18 Appointment of Committees

**Resolved** that all councillors be appointed as members of the Allotment Committee, the Planning & Economic Development Committee & the Finance & General Purposes Committee for 2018/19.

#### **Selection of Committee Chairmen**

The Council was advised, prior to consideration of this item, & following information received by the Clerks' office indicating that prior contrary advice had been given at a private meeting, that there was no legal restriction to the number of posts to which members of the Council may be elected.

Resolved that the following members be selected as Chairmen & Vice Chairmen for the stated committees:

### 1) Allotment Committee

Chairman: Councillor W Pegram

Vice Chairman: Councillor P McCarthy

# 2) Finance & General Purposes Committee

Chairman: Councillor Ms C Tindall Vice Chairman: Councillor P Kendall

## 3) Planning & Economic Development Committee

Chairman: Councillor Mrs A Kendall

Vice Chairman: Councillor Mrs L Radcliffe

### 6/18 Appointment of Representatives on Outside Bodies 2018/19

Resolved that the following members be selected as representatives on the stated outside bodies:

Citizens' Advice Bureau Mrs S Stamper

Fawcett Johnson Charity Ms C Tindall & P Kendall

Flimby & Broughton Moor Wind Farm Committee S Ashworth, P Kendall & Ms C

Tindall

John Collins Charity Mrs J Wood & M Wood

Maryport Harbour & Marine Authority W Pegram Senhouse Museum Trust Mrs L Radcliffe Solway Area of Natural Beauty S Ashworth

### 7/18 Outgoing Chairman Announcements

Councillor Mrs A Kendall stated that she would like to thank fellow members & P Kendall for support in 2017/18, a year in which the Council had decided to support events within but not outside the area, & the Clerks for their support and understanding. She reported that she had enjoyed all the events she had attended & pleasure in schools continuing to work in partnership with the Council. She considered that improvements in Maryport had helped it to look more & that she would continue to support the town. She wished the incoming Chairman luck.

R	118	١ ١	/ote	٥f	Th	anks
•			/UIG	w		alika

Councillor Mrs L Radcliffe thanked Councillor A Kendall for her efforts in 2017/18, despite issues with her health. She advised that she considered Councillor Kendall to be a person of good sense & judgement, & that she had done an excellent job during her year as Chairman.

The Meeting finished at 7.40 p	m.	
	Signed	
	Chairman	
	Date	